Gaming

So one of my biggest passions is gaming!!!!

I play diverse video-games (mostly in the genre of RPG though I play others as well), but two have been the most present in my life: World of Warcraft, which I play (officially *coughs*) since mid 2006, and the Final Fantasy saga.

I’ll start with FF: the first time I came in contact with the saga was when I saw the FMV (Full Motion Video) screenshots of FFVIII on a gaming magazine on January 1999. I was 15. I fell in love. It was beautiful, it was glorious, and had to be mine.

ff8-1 ff8-2

The game had too much of a romantic plot, but at that age I was perfectly ok with that! =P
That was the first game I actually “played”, was with it that I started seeing myself as a gamer. After the first play-through, I did a second one to try to get every item, every sidequest done, every mini-game. I followed a walktrough, but only on my second+ tries: I don’t like when they spoil the game, so my first tries are always completely blind.

I then played FFVII, FFIX, FFX, FFX-2, FFXII and half of FFXIII (got a bit bored mid-game, so I picked FFXII again just for giggles). They have had a more futuristic look, medieval looks, steampunkish looks here and there, a mix of all, romantic plots, religious conspiracies and even political wars. They’ve had full bad-ass villains and shades of grey ones, awesome (and not so awesome) main characters and SUPER awesome secondary characters (oh Balthier)! And, on my part, I’ll keep on playing these games. Next I need to buy FFIV!!


Now World of Warcraft is a completely different monster. Unlike FF which is a single-player game, WoW is a massively multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG), which means a HUGE community of players. I have been playing the game for 9 years now and I have made a lot of friends from all over the World during those years. I still talk to people I met over 7 years ago. We play different factions now, but we still talk and it’s awesome. I unofficially already played the game before I officially did, when an ex of mine introduced me to a…ahem, private server. When I like something though, I gotta have it. That came true when I saw the first expansion cinematic – The Burning Crusade.

Two new races were added: The Draenei of the Alliance (the purple dude at the start) and the Blood Elves of the Horde (the one in the red dress), which are, of course, mortal enemies. Since I was Alliance, I rolled a very pretty Draenei Paladin (the class of the guy in the cinematic) and made my objective to get the same armour and mace that he was using – which I did and I still have them c:
I then turned to the dark side, so now, the same character, is now a Blood Elf of the Horde <3

Although she is my main achievement / mounts / pet gatherer, I no longer do end-game content with her, in the sense I don’t kill the hardest bad guys with her. That is a job for my other Belf, a Mage, which my guild group benefits most from. She’s in the featured image c:

Both of these sagas have something in common: a very VERY rich story and characters, and a lot of mini-games and stuff to collect on the side. There’s always something to do!

This all to say: I invest time and money (monthly subs) in these things, yes, for sure. But believe it or not they keep me sane. I rather kill characters in games than going ballistic in real-life =P
It’s an escape, like anything else.

5 thoughts on “Gaming

Leave a Reply

